

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING SINAI HEALTH SYSTEM ("SHS")

Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Harbourfront Room, Delta Hotel Toronto, 75 Lower Simcoe Street, Toronto
11:10 am – 11:20 am

Minutes

Present:

Mr. Brent Belzberg
Dr. Erin Bearss
Ms. Paula Blackstien-Hirsch

Mr. Jonathan Bloomberg
Mr. Lawrence Bloomberg

Mr. Peter Cohen Mr. Harry Culham

Mr. Lloyd S.D. Fogler, QC

Mr. Ira Gluskin

Ms. Maxine Granovsky Gluskin

Ms. Debbie Kimel

Ms. Jane Merkley

Dr. Gary Newton Mr. Stephen Pustil Ms. Heather Reisman

Mr. Joel Reitman

Ms. Joanna Rotenberg* Mr. Robert Rubinoff Mr. Allan Rudolph

Mr. Mark Saunders Mr. Edward Sonshine

Mr. Kenneth Tanenbaum*

Regrets:

Mr. David Cynamon
Mr. Louis de Melo
Mr. Irving Gerstein
Mr. Bernard Ghert
Mr. Jay Hennick
Mr. Andrew Hoffman
Mr. Tom Kornya
Mr. Joseph Lebovic
Mr. Richard Pilosof
Mr. Philip Reichmann

Mr. Gerald Schwartz
Mr. Howard Sokolowski
Mr. Lawrence Tanenbaum
Rt. Hon. John Turner
Mr. Charles Winograd
Mr. Mark Wiseman
Dr. Ian Witterick
Mr. Jim Woodgett
Dr. Trevor Young

Also Present:

Mr. John Aldis Ms. Susan Brown Ms. Melanie de Wit Ms. Carey Lucki Ms. Barbara McCully Ms. Karen Michell Mr. Sandip Mitra Dr. Maureen Shandling

Guests:

Ms. Cathy Russell, PwC

*via teleconference

Recorder: Ms. Aja Dykes

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Brent Belzberg, Chair of the Board of Directors, called the meeting to order.

1.1 Quorum

Mr. Belzberg noted that a quorum was present and the meeting was duly constituted.

1.2 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest Arising from the Agenda

No Declarations of Conflicts of Interest were made.

1.3 Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved as circulated.

2.0 CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS

2.1 Previous Meeting Minutes

Whereas the Sinai Health System Board of Directors has reviewed the Annual Meeting Minutes from Thursday, June 14, 2018;

Be it resolved that the Sinai Health System Board of Directors approves the meeting Minutes from Thursday, June 14, 2018, as circulated.

3.0 REPORTS

3.1 Chair's Report

The Chair of the Board report was deferred to the luncheon for oral presentation.

3.2 CEO's Report

The President & CEO report was deferred to the luncheon for oral presentation.

4.0 RESOURCES CONVERSATION

4.1 Receipt of Audited Financial Statements for the Year Ending March 31, 2019

Year-End Financial Results and Audit Findings in respect of SHS were received by the Members of the Corporation.

4.2 Appointment of Auditors for Sinai Health System

4.3 Appointment of Public Auditors for Bridgepoint Health

Whereas the Boards of Directors of Sinai Health System and Bridgepoint Health recommend that the Members of the Corporations appoint PwC LLP as auditors for Sinai Health System and public accountants for Bridgepoint Health for the year ending March 31, 2020;

Be it resolved that the Members of Sinai Health System and Bridgepoint Health accept the recommendations of the respective Boards of Directors and appoint PwC LLP as auditors for Sinai Health System and public accountants for Bridgepoint Health for the year ending March 31, 2020, at a fee to be determined by the respective Boards of Directors.

5.0 GOVERNANCE CONVERSATION

5.1 Election of Sinai Health System Board of Directors, Ex-Officio Directors, and Honourary Directors

Whereas pursuant to Sinai Health System's By-Law Number 3, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporation that the following actions be taken by the Members of the Corporation;

Now, therefore, be it resolved that the Members of Sinai Health System hereby consent to, approve and adopt the following:

Election of Directors

Be it resolved that effective as of the date hereof, the following individuals, being the only persons nominated for such positions, be and they hereby are elected to the Board of Directors of SHS for a term of one (1), two (2) or three (3) years until his or her successor is elected subject to the provisions of the Corporation's By-Law Number 3:

1-	Debbie Kimel
Year	2. Tom Kornya
	3. Joseph Lebovic
	Richard Pilosof
	5. Stephen M. Pustil
	6. Philip Reichmann
	7. Heather M. Reisman
	8. Joel Reitman
2-	9. Joanna Rotenberg
Year	10. Robert A. Rubinoff
	11. Mark S. Saunders
	12. Howard Sokolowski
	13. Edward Sonshine
	14. Kenneth Tanenbaum
	15. Charles M. Winograd
	16. Mark D. Wiseman
3- Year	17. Brent Belzberg
	18. Paula Blackstien-Hirsch
	19. Jonathan Bloomberg
	20. Peter Cohen
	21. Harry Culham
	22. David Cynamon
	23. Ira Gluskin
	24. Andrew Hoffman

The following are ex-officio voting Directors of Sinai Health System

The President of the University of	Dr. L. Trevor Young
Toronto or designate	-
The Chair of the Board of Circle of	Allan Rudolph
Care Home Care Services (Toronto)	
Sinai Health System Immediate Past	Jay S. Hennick
Chair	

The following are ex-officio non-voting Directors of Sinai Health System

Chief Executive Officer	Dr. Gary Newton
Chair of the Medical Advisory	Dr. Jay Wunder
Committee	·
President of the Professional Staff	Dr. Erin Bearss
Association	
Chief Nursing Executive	Jane Merkley

Appointment of Sinai Health System Director Emeriti

Whereas pursuant to the Sinai Health System's By-Law Number 3, there may be *ex-officio* non-voting Director(s) Emeriti appointed to the Board;

Be it resolved that effective as of the date hereof, the Members of Sinai Health System appoint the following individuals for a term of one (1) year or until his or her successor is appointed subject to the provisions of the Corporation's By-Law Number 3:

- Lawrence S. Bloomberg, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus
- Lloyd Fogler, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus
- The Hon. Irving R. Gerstein, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus
- Bernard I. Ghert, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus
- Gerald Schwartz, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus
- Lawrence Tanenbaum, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus
- Rt. Hon. John N. Turner, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus

Appointment of Sinai Health System Non-Voting Honourary Director

Whereas pursuant to the approval of Sinai Health System's Board of Directors at the Meeting of December 11, 2018;

Be it resolved that effective as of the date hereof, the Members of Sinai Health System appoint the following individual for a term of one (1) year or until his or her successor is appointed subject to the provisions outlined in the Minutes of the Meeting of December 11, 2018:

Maxine Granovsky Gluskin, non-voting Honourary Director

6.0 OTHER BUSINESS

No other business was brought forward.

7.0 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next scheduled Annual General Meeting is Wednesday, June 11, 2020 from 11:00 am to 2:00 pm.

8.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:08 am.

Mr. Brent Belzberg Chair of the Board

Dr. Gary Newton Secretary of the Board