MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS Sinai Health System Tuesday, June 16, 2015 MSH Executive Board Room, 19-317 5:55 – 6:00 p.m.

Minutes

Mr. David Leith

Mr. Joseph Mapa

Ms. Jane Merkley

Mr. Stephen Pustil

Mr. Robert Rubinoff

Mr. Charles Winograd

Mr. Lawrence Tanenbaum

Mr. Joel Reitman

Dr. Trevor Young

Mr. Mark Wiseman

Mr. Allan Rudolph

Mr. Mark Saunders

Ms. Honey Sherman

Mr. Edward Sonshine

Ms. Joan Sproul Mr. Marc Toppings

Ms. Marian Walsh

The Rt. Hon. John Turner

Present:

Mr. Jay Hennick, Chair Mr. David Denison, Vice Chair Mr. Brent Belzberg Ms. Paula Blackstien-Hirsch Mr. Lawrence Bloomberg Ms. Gail Cook-Bennett Mr. Paul Gallagher Mr. Bernard Ghert Mr. Ira Gluskin Dr. Rita Kandel

Via Teleconference: Mr. Peter Cohen

Regrets:

The Hon. Linda Frum, Senator Ms. Debbie Kimel Mr. Joseph Lebovic Dr. Mirek Otremba Mr. Philip Reichmann Ms. Heather Reisman

Also Present:

Mr. Kevin Goldthorp Mr. Jason Rutland Dr. Maureen Shandling

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Jay S. Hennick, Chair, called the meeting to order.

1.1 Quorum

The Chair noted that a quorum was present and the meeting was duly constituted.

1.2 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest Arising from the Agenda

No Declarations of Conflicts of Interest were declared.







1.3 Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved as circulated.

2.0 MATTERS REQUIRING DECISION

The following appointments were put forward and approved by the Board:

2.1 Appointment of Officers of Sinai Health System

Whereas, pursuant to By-Law No. 1 of Sinai Health System, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporation that the following action be taken by the Directors of the Corporation;

Be it resolved that the Directors of Sinai Health System hereby consent to, approve and adopt the following:

Appointment of Officers

Be it resolved that, effective as of the date hereof, the following individuals, being the only persons nominated for such positions, be and they hereby are appointed officers of Sinai Health System for a term of one (1) year or until his or her successor is appointed subject to the provisions of the Corporation's By-Law No. 1:

Jay S. Hennick, Chair David Denison, Vice-Chair Joseph Mapa, Secretary

2.2 Appointment of Sinai Health System Co-Chairs and Members of Committees

Whereas, pursuant to By-Law No. 1 of Sinai Health System, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporation that the following actions be taken by the Directors of the Corporation;

Be it resolved that the Directors of Sinai Health System appoint the Co-Chairs and Committee Members for the following Committees (a copy of which is appended to the original minutes):

- Audit and Risk Management Committee
- Patient Safety and Quality Committee
- Research Committee
- Resources Committee
- Governance Committee
- 2.3 Professional Affairs

Whereas pursuant to Sinai Health System's Professional Staff By-law No. 2 ("Bylaw No. 2") it is required that the Directors appoint a Chair and Vice-Chair respectively of the Medical Advisory Committee ("MAC");







And whereas pursuant to Sinai Health System's Bylaw No. 2 it is contemplated that the Directors may appoint two members of the Medical Staff to the MAC to ensure that there are representatives to adequately represent the Sinai Health System sites and the full continuum of academic work and clinical services;

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Sinai Health System appoints the following Medical Advisory Committee Chair and Vice-Chair:

- Chair of the MAC
 - Dr. Rita Kandel, Pathologist-in-Chief
- Vice-Chair of the MAC Dr. Jay Wunder, Surgeon-in-Chief

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Sinai Health System appoints the following two members of the Medical Staff to MAC to adequately represent the Sinai Health System sites and the full continuum of academic work and clinical services:

- Dr. John Goldsand
- Dr. Ignazio La Delfa
- 2.4 Special Appointments
 - 2.4.1 Approval of Directors of Bridgepoint Family Health Team

Whereas the Directors of Sinai Health System and Bridgepoint Health, as Class B Members of Bridgepoint Family Health Team, elect two persons annually to serve as Directors of Bridgepoint Family Health Team;

And whereas Marian Walsh, Associate CEO and Chief Transformation Officer, and Jason Rutland, Vice-President, Finance and Operational Effectiveness, have agreed to have their names stand as Class B members of the Board of Directors of the Bridgepoint Family Health Team;

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Sinai Health System approves the nominations as noted above.

2.4.2 Approval of Fundraising by the Bridgepoint Foundation

Whereas, in order to continue to engage existing donors, Bridgepoint Foundation must continue its annual campaigns, tribute donations and special events;

And whereas Bridgepoint Foundation, pursuant to its new General By-Law, effective March 5, 2015, may not undertake any fund raising activity unless it has received the express consent of the Board of Directors of Sinai Health System to do so;

Be it resolved that the Sinai Health System Board of Directors approve proactive fundraising by Bridgepoint Foundation to support Sinai Health System through annual campaigns, tribute donations and special events from its donor list as it stood as at March 1, 2015, for one year from the date hereof, such approval to be provided to Bridgepoint Foundation in accordance with its General By-Law.







2.4.3 Appointment of Sinai Health System Director Emeritus

Whereas, pursuant to the Sinai Health System's By-Law No. 1, the Board of Directors of Sinai Health System shall include an *ex-officio* non-voting Director Emeritus to be appointed by the Directors;

Be it resolved that, effective as of the date hereof, the Sinai Health System Board of Directors appoints the following individual for a term of one (1) year or until his successor is appointed subject to the provisions of the Corporation's By-Law No. 1:

John Turner, ex-officio non-voting Director Emeritus

3.0 OTHER BUSINESS

No other business was brought forward.

4.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:35 p.m.

Jay S. Hennick Chair of the Board

Marc Toppings Corporate Secretary





