

MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SINAI HEALTH SYSTEM ("SHS")

Thursday, June 20, 2024 Toronto, Ontario 11:55 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Minutes

Present:

Brent Belzberg
Paula Blackstien-Hirsch
Jonathan Bloomberg
Peter Cohen
David Cynamon
Dr. Luke Devine
Joanne Ferstman
Jonathan Gitlin
Ira Gluskin
Jay Hennick

Andrew Hoffman
Michael Hollend
Debbie Kimel
Jane Merkley
Dr. Gary Newton
Richard Pilosof
Dani Reiss
Joel Reitman
Howard Sokolowski
Dr. Lesley Wiesenfeld

Regrets:

Lawrence Bloomberg
Harry Culham
Lloyd S.D. Fogler, QC
Irving Gerstein
Bernard Ghert
Maxine Granovsky Gluskin
Dr. Heather Munroe-Blum
Tom Kornya
Philip Reichmann

Joanna Rotenberg Mark Saunders Gerald Schwartz Edward Sonshine Kenneth Tanenbaum Lawrence Tanenbaum Charles Winograd Mark Wiseman

Also Present:

Robert Bull Tracy Rotstein

Recorder: Shelley Albert

Dr. Maureen Shandling



1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Peter Cohen, Chair of the Board of Directors, called the meeting to order.

1.1 Quorum

The Chair noted that a quorum was present and the meeting was duly constituted.

1.2 Declaration of Conflicts of Interest Arising from the Agenda

No Declarations of Conflicts of Interest were made.

1.3 Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved as circulated.

2. MATTERS REQUIRING DECISION

2.1. Appointment of Officers of Sinai Health System

Whereas, pursuant to By-Law Number 5 of Sinai Health System, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporation that the following action be taken by the Directors of the Corporation as recommended by the Governance Committee of the Board;

Be it resolved that the Directors of Sinai Health System hereby consent to, approve and adopt the following appointments:

Appointment of Officers

Be it resolved that, effective as of the date hereof, the following individuals, being the only persons nominated for such positions, be and they hereby are appointed officers of SHS for a term lasting until the next annual general meeting of the Corporation or until their successor is appointed, subject to the provisions of the Corporation's By-Law No. 5:

- Andrew Hoffman, Chair
- Jay Hennick, Vice Chair
- Gerald Schwartz, Vice Chair
- Lawrence Tanenbaum, Vice Chair
- Joanna Rotenberg, Treasurer
- Dr. Gary Newton, Secretary

2.2. Terms of Reference of the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee and the Resources and Planning Committee

Whereas pursuant to Sinai Health's By-law Number 5, the Board may establish Committees from time to time and shall determine the terms of reference of such committees;

And whereas the Governance Committee has endorsed the mandates of the new Finance, Audit and Risk Committee and the Resources and Planning Committee, as presented, and recommended that Terms of Reference based on the mandates be presented to the Sinai Health Board for approval;



Now therefore be it resolved that the Boards of Directors of Sinai Health and Hennick Bridgepoint Health approve the Terms of Reference for the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee and the Resources and Planning Committee, as presented.

2.3. Appointment of Chairs and Members of the Committees

Whereas, pursuant to By-Law No. 5 of Sinai Health System and By-Law No.1 of Hennick Bridgepoint Health, it is deemed desirable and in the best interests of the Corporations that the following actions be taken by the Directors of the respective Corporations;

Be it resolved that the Directors of Sinai Health System and Hennick Bridgepoint Health (as applicable) appoint the Board Committee Chairs and the Members of the Governance Committee, as presented.

2024/25 Board Committee Chairs

• Finance, Audit and Risk Committee (Sinai Health System and Hennick Bridgepoint Health)

Chair: Mark Wiseman

- Investment Sub-Committee (Sinai Health System and Sinai Health Foundation) Co-Chairs: David Kaufman and Charles Winograd
- Resources and Planning Committee (Sinai Health System and Hennick Bridgepoint Health)

Chair: Joanna Rotenberg

- Long-Term Care Steering Sub-Committee (Sinai Health System)
 Chair: Kenneth Tanenbaum
- Governance Committee (Sinai Health System)

Chair: Charles Winograd

Human Resources Committee (Sinai Health System)

Chair: Kenneth Tanenbaum

Patient Safety and Quality Committee (Sinai Health System)

Chair: Tom Kornya

Research Committee (Sinai Health System)

Chair: Dr. Heather Munroe-Blum, O.C., O.Q.

2024/25 Governance Committee Membership

Charles Winograd (Chair) Dr. Heather Munroe-Blum, O.C., O.Q.

Peter Cohen Joanna Rotenberg
Andrew Hoffman Kenneth Tanenbaum
Tom Kornya Mark Wiseman

2.4 Appointment of Members of Professional Staff

Whereas, pursuant to Sinai Health System's Professional Staff By-law No. 2 ("**Bylaw No. 2**") it is required that the Directors appoint a Chair and Vice-Chair respectively of the Medical Advisory Committee ("**MAC**");



And whereas, pursuant to Sinai Health System's By-law Number 5 it is contemplated that the Directors may appoint two members of the Medical Staff to the MAC to ensure that there are representatives to adequately represent the SHS sites and the full continuum of academic work and clinical services;

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Sinai Health System appoints the following Medical Advisory Committee Chair and Vice-Chair:

- Chair: Dr. Lesley Wiesenfeld, Psychiatry
- Vice-Chair: Dr. David Yan, Ophthalmology

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Sinai Health System appoints the following two members of the Medical Staff to the MAC to adequately represent the Sinai Health System sites and the full continuum of academic work and clinical services:

- Dr. Christine Soong
- Dr. Chris Fortin

2.5 Approval of Directors of Bridgepoint Family Health Team

Whereas the Directors of Sinai Health System and Hennick Bridgepoint Health, as Class B Members of Bridgepoint Family Health Team, elect two persons annually to serve as Directors of Bridgepoint Family Health Team;

And whereas Dr. Chris Fortin and Kara Ronald have agreed to have their names stand as Class B members of the Board of Directors of the Bridgepoint Family Health Team;

Be it resolved that the Boards of Directors of Sinai Health System and Hennick Bridgepoint Health approve the nominations as noted above.

3. DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next scheduled meeting of the Board of Directors is Thursday, October 10, 2024 from 2:30 pm to 5:00 pm.

4. ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Gary Newton, President and Chief Executive Officer of Sinai Health, thanked Peter Cohen for his remarkable leadership. There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:00 p.m.

Minutes approved on October 10, 2024

Andrew Hoffman Chair of the Board Dr. Gary Newton Secretary of the Board

Gary Newton (Nov 15, 2024 10:20 EST)